Toolkit

Review: Notes from the Universe by Mike Dooley

Seeking out meaningful resources for my therapy clients to keep with them between sessions is a never ending quest.  If there is a blog or newsletter list with potential value to my work, I subscribe to it. A continuing education class? I take it. Peer study groups, professional memberships, you name it, I’m there. The amount of helpful resources is astounding. I was lucky enough to come across one of my current favorites this last week  in the work of Mike Dooley and his team at tut.com.

Mike is familiar to anyone who has seen the movie The Secret. He was one of the teachers featured in the film. I have a confession to make. I was not a huge fan of the movie or the book. It was well made, it made sense on some levels, and there is no question, it took off like gangbusters. But for me, it just didn’t resonate despite my best efforts.  I got it, but didn’t “GET it.”

Enter Mike Dooley’s work. He has a great number of books and audio CDs on manifesting change, embracing life, and experiencing the Universe as a loving, supportive presence.  I had the opportunity to read all three of his “Notes from the Universe” books, volumes 1, 2, and 3, and found them easy to read, unfailingly positive, and occasionally…eerily accurate for whatever was going on on a given day. The same help true for Mike’s perpetual calendar – a different positive message each day. You know those books that you leave on the nightstand and then open to a random page, to see what message it has for you? Mike’s “Universe” series is definitely one of those books.  I can easily envision couples work, study groups, and individuals actually using these books as an adjunct to their life’s journey.

I found myself showing the books to friends and family members this week. “Hey…have a look. Open it to any page. See what you get.” The result was always the same….someone humored me, opened the book, then became verrrrry quiet as they read what appeared on the page. The messages Mike imparts are supportive, loving, and positive, yes. But more than that, they each require some thought, some interactive engagement on the reader’s part, and more than a few “ah ha” moments.  All three books in the series are just wonderful. As a clinician, I can think of a number of ways to use them with client work. As just me, I know I will re-read them again and again.

Find Mike’s books HERE.

Leave a Reply

