Learn to Engage Life Using ACT

Discovery Mental Health

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, or ACT, can help you to engage fully in your life. If you missed the introductory post on this approach to ACT you can find it here:


The Open and Centered posts, which make up 2 of 3 areas of the Hexaflex model, can be found here.





Welcome to the third part of the Hexaflex model. What you will learn:

  1. What being Engaged means in ACT
  2. Values
  3. Committed Action

Hexaflex Model

There are 6 key concepts in ACT and learning how to apply them promotes psychological flexibility. They are as follows:

act-processes Headsted UK. (n.d). The six processes of ACT [Graphic]. Retrieved from https://headsted.co.uk/static/img/act/act-processes.jpg ACT breaks these concepts down into 3 areas which are “Open,” “Centered,” and “Engaged.” Psychological distress originates from within these three areas.

P_20160514_164832_1_1 Wish this image was more pretty.  Taken from the book!


You have one shot at life…

View original post 750 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s